Mitch's Myths - the road to hell is paved with PR

Indy Bypass Toll Road - the latest proposal without a need

Illiana Toll Road - will northern Indiana have any free roads left?

New Terrain I-69 - throwing a billion dollars out the window

Indiana Toll Road - raw deal with lessons for other tollroad proposals


No Illiana Expressway
No Illiana Toll Road
Shelby County
      Preservation Group

Hoosier Environmental

Common Sense I-69
Environmental Law
        and Policy C


Truth Be Tolled
Texas Toll Party

San Antonio Toll Party
Stop SmartPort


Save Our Turnpikes
 Independent Drivers

No Tolls - UK



PBS: Texas Tollroads - part 1
PBS: Texas Tollroads - part 2
Strayhorn Speaks


Specific Information


SB 1 both toll roads
SB 14 rail privatization
SB 239 indy bypass
SB 291 illiana
SB 468 corridors and eminent domain
HB 1209 gives gov full privatization authority


"The Highwaymen" -- by Daniel Schulman & James Ridgeway for Mother Jones -- An expose' about the sale of the IN Toll Road by Mitch Daniels -- this is a MUST READ !!


County Elected Officials

Hancock County


111 S. American Legion Place, Suite 219
Greenfield, Indiana 46140

County Commissioners:
Brian Kleiman - President
Jack Heiden
Armin Apple

County Commission meetings are held every Monday (7:30 am for Highways and 8:30 am for public hearing) in the Commissioners Courtroom Room 207 (second floor of the Hancock County Courthouse).   There is also a public hearing the third Monday of every month at 6:30 pm in the same location.  Call 317-477-1105 to be placed on the agenda. For other information please call Vicki Saunders, Secretary to the Commissioners at (317)477-1105.

County Council:
Tom Roney  - President
William Bolander
Jack Leonard
James Shelby
Rosalie Richardson
Walter Waitt
Dennis Fisk

Council meetings are the second Wednesday of each month at 8:30 a.m. Meetings are held in the Commissioners Courtroom Room 207 (second floor of the Hancock County Courthouse). For more information call 317-477-1105.



Johnson County


Courthouse Annex Building - 1st floor
86 W. Court Street, Franklin IN 46131

The Johnson County Commissioners meet every Monday at 3:30 pm in the Courthouse Annex Building Auditorium.  (317) 736-3700 

Johnson County Board of Commissioners:
R J McConnell

Tom Kite

Michael Ripley

The Johnson County Council meets the 2nd Monday of every month.  (317) 736-3090

Johnson County Council:
Steve Hollenbeck

Charles Canary

Anita Knowles

Beth Boyce

Ronald West

Josh McCarty

John L. Price


Lake County


Building 'A', 3rd Floor, 2293 N. Main Street
Crown Point, IN 46307

County Commissioners:
Roosevelt Allen Jr.
     (219) 755-3056
     (219) 881-6078

Gerry Scheub
     (219) 755-3200
     (219) 397-6728

Frances DuPey
     (219) 755-3205
     (219) 933-2808


LaPorte County


813 Lincoln Way, Suite 301
LaPorte, IN  46350
(219) 326-6808

The Board of Commissioners meets the 1st Tuesday of every month at 6:00 pm (except January when the meeting is at 10:00 am) and the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 10:00 am in Meeting Room #3 of the County Comples.

County Commissioners:

Barbara Huston

Bill Hager
     4941 N 600 W
     LaPorte, IN   46350
     (219) 874-4779

Mike Bohacek

The LaPorte County Council meets the 4th Monday of every month at 6:30 pm (except January when the meeting will be Jan. 30 at 6:30 pm) in Meeting Room #3 of the County Complex.

County Council Members:

Jerry Cooley
     (219) 326-8075

John Jones
     (219) 874-3112

Earl Cunningham
     (219) 879-8169

Mark Yagelski
     (219) 879-9150

Terry Garner
     (219) 797-4115

Mark Ludlow
     (219) 362-9970

Rich Mrozinski
     (219) 326-0523


Madison County


limited information -- if you have specifics, please send them to us at

County Commissioner:
Patricia Dillon
Paul Wilson
John Richwine

County Council Members:
William Savage
Buddy Patterson
John Bostic
Gary Gustin


Morgan County

Morgan County Administration Building
180 S Main Street, Suite 112
Martinsville, IN  46151
(765) 342-1007

Morgan County Commissioners:
Norman Voyles
     1620 Cramertown Loop
     Martinsville, IN    46151
     (765) 342-4513

Jeff Quyle
     6441 E. Coal Bluff Ct.
     Camby, IN   46113
     (317) 821-0587

Brian Goss
     9545 W. Lewisville Rd.
     Paragon, IN     46166
     (765) 537-9056

Morgan County Council:
Bryan Collier
     216 E. Pike St.
     Martinsville, IN    46151
     (765) 342-5377

Stephen Call
     1292 Cottonwood Ct.
     Mooresville, IN    46158
     (317) 831-2080

Sam Carlisle
     39 E. High St.
     Mooresville, IN    46158
     (317) 831-2080

Robert O'Neal
    1219 E. Country Club Road
     Martinsville, IN    46151
     (765) 342-3866

Paul Prather
     3564 Clear Creek Blvd.
     Martinsville, IN    46151
     (765) 342-5352

Kenneth L. Hale
     2390 Pumpkinvine Hill Road
     Martinsville, IN    46151
     (765) 342-8731

Tony Ross
     260 N. Sycamore St.
     Martinsville, IN    46151
     (765) 349-9746


Porter County


Board of Commissioners:
155 Indiana Avenue, Suite 205
Valparaiso, IN  46383
(219) 465-3440

Carole Knoblock
     (219) 465-3349

John Evans
     (219) 465-3361

Robert Harper
     (219) 465-3354

County Council:
155 Indiana Avenue, Suite 207
Valparaiso, IN  46383
(219) 465-3332

Dan Whitten - President
Jim Burge
William Carmichael
Bob Poparad
Rita Stevenson
Matthew Murphy
Mike Bucko


Shelby County


County Commissioners:
David Mohr
Tony Newton
Roger Laird

County Council:
Terry Smith
Bob Carmony
Tom Debaun
Brent Fauhs
Linda Sanders
Tami Grubbs (see message below)
Margaret Brunk

In a letter to the editor of the Shelbyville News, Shelby County Councilor Tami Grubbs asked county residents to contact her with their opinions on the Indy ByPass Toll Road.


Her contact information is: Tami Grubbs 2961 N 100 W Shelbyville, IN 46176

It is good practice when contacting your elected officials to include your home address so they are sure you are a resident -- and potential vote.

You might also send the same letter to the editor of the Shelbyville News for publication. They have guidelines posted online at:

Their contact information is: The Shelbyville News / PO Box 750 / Shelbyville, IN 46176 or drop off at: 123 E. Washington St / Shelbyville or fax to: (317) 398-0194 or email to: 

They do ask you to include a phone number and address so they can verify the author.

So, Shelby County residents -- Let Ms. Grubbs know that "We don't want this road" ! She is LISTENING and that is a very good thing.


Looking Forward

State and National Elected Officials

You CAN make a difference

bookmark and visit us often

Do Something Now - help stop the madness with just  minutes a month

Calendar - important hearings and meetings

Effects of Interstates - burdens imposed on Cities & Towns

Video - Outtakes of various meetings

About Us

Email Options

Sign Up -- for news and notices (just click 'send')

Got Questions? -- send them to us

Got a Comment? -- we'd like to hear it

Contact Your Elected Officials

Cedar Lake
Crown Point
Michigan City

Hancock Cnty
Johnson County
Lake County
LaPorte County
Madison Cnty
Morgan County
Porter County
Shelby County